Merseyside Quiz Leagues

The World's Largest Independent Quiz Leagues

The Merseyside Quiz Leagues, the home of team quizzing here on Merseyside, were founded in 1959 and are the largest independent quiz leagues in the world.  In 2019 we therefore celebrated our our Diamond Jubilee!

The 2022-23 season saw a return to full competition following the pandemic and there are 84 teams taking part in the current season. Teams usually take part in their own local league, so that travelling distances are kept to a minimum. There are, however, opportunities to enter Merseyside-wide competitions at either team or league representative levels.

If you are interested in finding out a little more about team quizzing on Merseyside, why not drop into a venue and watch a game taking place.  During the September to March season most games are played on Monday or Tuesday nights starting between 8 and 9pm.  The tab 'Leagues' will allow you to select your local area from where you can find a team playing near you.  You will be guaranteed a warm welcome and if you wish, a chance to take part in a friendly game after the main match.  If you need any advice please contact us.

Mimir Merseyside Heats

The Merseyside Heats of this year's Mimir Individual Competition were held on 20 March at Winmarleigh House in Warrington.  The 32 players who qualified from the five Leagues played three rounds of very close matches.  Many congratulations to Angela Doyle (Liv), Colin Foster (War), Dag Griffiths (S&F) and John Wilson (Orm) who will contest the Final at the MQL Finals and Presentation Evening on 15 May back at Winmarleigh House.  Results can be viewed here.


It is with sadness that we report the death of Brian Bates.  Brian was a loyal member of the MQL.  Although he rarely played, he was a regular QP and assisted with administration in both Warrington QL and MQL.  He was a regular attender of Council meetings and continued to support the Leagues as he had his late wife Elaine in her quizzing and during her Presidency of the MQL.  Brian was a serving Vice-President of the MQL.  Our sincere condolences go his son Robert and all the family.  The funeral will be at Howe Bridge Crematorium near Leigh, M46 0PZ on Tuesday 2nd April at 3pm.


Many congratulations to the Liverpool 2a team of Frank McHugh (Tramway), Joan Peacock (St Francis), Rob Cruise and John Coventry (Bookworms) and Paul Savage (CTK Cavaliers) who won the President’s Shield in a tense final set of matches.  They finished ahead of the holders Wirral by just one bonus point  The final table and full results are here.


Many congratulations to the Liverpool team of Angela Doyle (Bishop Eton), Chris Quinn (Cricketers), Rod Moore (Kluggers), Fay Howard and Danny Grimes (Aigburth Swans) and Brian Thompson (Aigburth People) who have won the 2023-24 President's Trophy.  This is Liverpool's first win since 2018 and brings an end to Ormskirk's five year winning run.  The final table and all results can be viewed here.  Many thanks to all who have participated and to Dag Griffiths for having organised the whole competition.

MQL Jubilee Buzzer Tournament 2024

Many congratulations to Yorkshire (Lewis Jones, Evan Lynch, Danny Lardner and Gary Moreland) who beat Misfits to win the 5th MQL Jubilee Buzzer Tournament that was held in Hoylake on Saturday 10 February.  Twenty five teams from all over the UK took part this year and were asked nearly one thousand questions. Further congratulations to M and M and M and M who beat Strongest Lincs to win the Plate and to Wirral who won the Bowl.
Thanks to our hosts at The Parade Community Centre and to the teams of writers, readers and scorers who voluntarily gave so willingly of their time and skills.  Special thanks to Tournament Organiser, Jon Stitcher and Question Coordinator and Editor, Dan Lawson for their enormous hard work in bringing the event together.  We hope that all teams enjoyed their day.  Full results are available to download here.

The final is now available to watch.

Page 1 of 33 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 20 30 > >>